-The original online science festival and webinar series!!!- Date: Friday, February 9, 1:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (note special time!) Webinar: “Lessons in Chemistry!” New York Times #1 best-selling author Bonnie Garmus will join us from London to discuss how Lessons in Chemistry are Lessons in Life! Speaker: Bonnie Garmus Author of New York Times #1 Bestseller, Sunday Times … Read more

Prashant Jain – 2023 Akron Section Award Winner

Awardee: Prof Jain’s is G. L. Clark Professor of Physical Chemistry and University Scholar at UIUC. His lab specializes in nanoscale light–matter interactions and nanoscale chemical imaging. His noteworthy recent contributions are discoveries of plasmon resonances in doped nanocrystals and plasmonic redox catalysis. His group’s website is Prashant is a Fellow of the American … Read more

Joint Cleveland-Akron September Meeting 9/21

Sustainability in the Tire Industry: Radically Re-Thinking our Raw Materials Supply Chain Ross Widenor and Ron Shaffer, Bridgestone Sept. 21, 5:30 pm – 8:30 pm at The Brew Kettle in Hudson RSVP at the Cleveland Section Website Here As the tire industry strives to deliver sustainability objectives, one major challenge will be to decouple our … Read more

2023 Akron ACS Award – Call for Nominations

The Akron Section is accepting nominations for the Akron Section Award, which will be presented at the November General Section Meeting, to an outstanding chemistry professional within a 500 mile radius of Akron in any field. The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium and engraved plaque. The lecturer delivers a lecture at the University of … Read more

Anne McNeil, 2021 Akron Section Award Winner, In The News

Anne McNeil, the 2021 Akron Section Award Winner, recently shared a presentation to the Akron Section of the ACS on microplastics in the environment and the research her group is pursuing to help remove microplastics from the environment. WKSU has an article on Professor McNeil’s presentation that you can check out here.

Sharyl Gregerson is the 2021 Gene Easter Awardee for Outstanding Chemistry High School Teachers

Sharyl Gregerson, AP and Honors Chemistry Teacher at Lake Middle High School, has been selected for the 2021 Gene Easter Award for outstanding chemistry high school teachers. The award is presented annually by the Akron Section of the ACS to recognize contributions of chemistry teachers in Portage, Stark, and Summit counties. Congratulations Sharyl and thank … Read more