Akron Section Award

The purpose of the Akron Section Award is to provide the Akron Section of ACS the opportunity to recognize young scientists who show great promise in their professional careers and to promote their interaction with the Akron Section members.

The Award is normally presented at our general meeting in November each year.   The Akron Section Award consists of a $1,000 honorarium and an engraved plaque.  The Awardee will be asked to deliver two lectures (one technical lecture at a local university and one for a more general audience) and to visit with scientists in the Akron community.

Rules of Eligibility:  A nominee for the Akron Section Award should be a scientist or engineer working in any branch of chemistry who is not beyond his/her 45th birthday and who demonstrates exceptional promise for making significant contributions to chemical science.  The nominee must reside within a 500 mile radius of Akron, Ohio at the time the Award is conferred.

Procedure for Nominations: A call for nominations will be published in Chemical and Engineering News, as well as contacts with Chemistry departments, typically in May. The selection of the Awardee will be based on the recommendation of peers familiar with the work of the scientist and based on published research and patents.  There is no specified format for the letter nomination.  At least one seconding letter should support the nomination.  The nominators are requested to include a synopsis of the accomplishments of the candidate and to define and document the importance of the nominee’s contributions.

Re-nominations are encouraged.

Nominations should be sent electronically to:

Dr. Charles M. Kausch
Email: treasurer@akronacs.org

Anne McNeil

Received 2021

Anne McNeil is the Carol A. Fierke Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and Macromolecular Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan. She is also an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and HHMI Professor. Her current research interests include chemical recycling of waste plastic, methods for capturing microplastics, developing adsorbents for poly- and per-fluoroalkylsubstances, and identifying new materials for redox flow batteries. Anne has been at Michigan since 2007, when she began her independent career. Prior to Michigan, Anne was a L’Oreal Post-doc Fellow with Prof. Tim Swager at MIT and earned her PhD from Cornell with Prof. Dave Collum, and graduated summa cum laude with a BS in Chemistry from the College of William and Mary (1999).