About Us

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest professional society and its Akron Section is one of the society’s 188 local sections. The society was founded in 1876 and chartered by congress in 1937, and its 155,000 members are practitioners of the chemical sciences. The society promotes science education, science research, and public understanding of science.

The Akron Section of the ACS serves Summit, Portage, and Stark counties in the state of Ohio. This local section was established in 1923 and claims around six hundred and fifty members, most of whom are employed by Akron area industry and are working in the field of polymer science. The activities of the section benefit the members of the section and residents of the community, and include public outreach, chemical education, and professional service. The section enables its members to interact with other chemists in the area, to participate in programs that will enhance their professional development, and to contribute to public understanding and appreciation of chemistry. The section holds general meetings, which are open to the public, monthly from September through May.

For more information on how to become involved, please contact one of the officers listed below. For more information about the offices, please see this article.

You can now follow our local section on both LinkedIn and Facebook. Signing up is another great way to stay informed on the latest news regarding the Akron Section of the ACS. In addition, you will be able to network with members who are already enlisted with each group. Just conduct a search for ‘American Chemical Society – Akron Section’ on either site or click the links in this message to see the group. Feel free to spread the word to colleagues and friends who might be interested in following the Akron Section of the ACS on LinkedIn and Facebook. If you do not have a Facebook or a LinkedIn account, you can visit theirs sites to create one.

Elected Officers - 2024

Kathryn Huisinga
Charles Kausch
Treasurer and Alternate Councilor
Roderick Durham
Daryl Stein
Mike Fricke
Walter Salamant
Chair-elect and Alternate Counsilor

Executive Committee - 2024

Doug McBain
Immediate Past Chair
Carla McBain
Education Outreach Chair
Tama Drenski
Past Chair
Project SEED Coordinator
Carol Kercher
USNCO Coordinator
David Perry
University of Akron
Harlan Wilk