ACS

Summer 2012 ICEP Program

The science portion of the 2012 ICEP (International Community Empowerment Project) Summer program was led by Dr. Regan Silvestri of Baldwin Wallace University. The science sessions were held twice a week for six weeks.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Participant Pre-Testing

Thursday, June 28, 2012

“Science Magic Show” & “Polymer Slime”
Regan Silvestri, Baldwin Wallace University

Monday, July 2, 2012

“Star Maps”
Gary Kader
Director of the Burrell Observatory, Baldwin Wallace University

Monday, July 9, 2012

“Spider Silk”
Todd Blackledge
Department of Biology, University of Akron

Thursday, July 12, 2012

“Fun with Science Day” at Summit Metro Parks & “Purple Cabbage” Lunch Demo
Regan Silvestri, Baldwin Wallace University

Monday, July 16, 2012

“Problem Solving”
Ed Meyer, Department of Physics, Baldwin Wallace University

Thursday, July 19, 2012

“Great Lakes Science Center” Field Trip

Monday, July 23, 2012

“Spectroscopy for Kids”
Ken Street, NASA Distinguished Research Associate
Christina Mastromatteo, Lubrizol Corporation Advanced Materials
Clemens Burda, Case Western Reserve University

Thursday, July 25, 2012

“Model Rocket Extravaganza”
Regan Silvestri, Baldwin Wallace University

Monday, July 30, 2012

Participant Post-Testing & Student Practice for Science Demonstration Performances
Regan Silvestri, Baldwin Wallace University

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Student Performances of Science Demonstrations at End of Summer Program
Regan Silvestri, Baldwin Wallace University





Copyright©2014, The Akron Section of The American Chemical Society